Pearls of the Word

(Back to Index)




by Jean-Louis Coraboeuf

"And I have also heard the groaning of the children of Israel, whom the Egyptians keep in bondage; and I have remembered My covenant" (Exodus 6:5).

(the feast of the Jewish Passover) 4 cups of blessing are used, also called cups of atonement, symbolising the four aspects of Redemption:

  • the coming out of the nation from slavery,

  • freedom (liberation),

  • redemption (salvation),

  • the belonging of the people to God.

These cups are handed round in the course of the meal to all the guests. In Luke 22 verses 17 and 20, it is written that Jesus had two of these cups handed out to his disciples.

Finally, a fifth cup exists, not distributed, which represents the cup of Elijah; symbolising the wait of the forerunners (the John-the-Baptists) heralding the coming of the Messiah.