(English Index)

(Original Index)




Tanakh is an acronym that identifies the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament for Christians). The acronym is based on the initial Hebrew letters of each of the text's three parts:

  • Torah meaning "Instruction". Also called the Chumash meaning "The five"; i.e. the five books of Moses or Pentateuch.

  • Nevi'im meaning "Prophets",

  • Ketuvim meaning "Writtings" ou "Hagiographa".

The Tanakh is also called Mikra or Miqra.

The fact that the Tanakh is cited 695 times in the New Testament shows that its writers were convinced that although God has done something unique and radically new in Jesus, the meaning of what he had done could be adequately expressed only in relation to the Tanakh.